Henan Division of 10th World Mandarin Debate Championships

Monday, November 25 - On the 23rd of November, the Henan Division of the 10th World Mandarin Debate Championships, organized by the Committee of the World Mandarin Debate Championships, and hosted by Sias University's Communist Youth League, was held at Sias University. The Founder, and Chairman of the Board of Sias, Dr. Shawn Chen, and Deputy Party Secretary (and head of the Communist Youth League), Li Huafeng, attended the opening ceremony. Teams from 21 universities across the province of Henan took part and were watched by a number of teachers and students.


Dr. Chen said that he hoped that people would use the platform of debates to create breakthroughs in innovation. Li Huafeng spoke about Sias and the importance of hosting the Henan Division of the World Mandarin Debate Championships.


Some of the 21 universities that sent teams were Anyang Institute of Technology, Anyang Normal University, North China University of Water Resources and Electric Power, Henan University Minsheng College, and Henan University of Engineering. Sias University was also represented. The ceremony began with an oath led by the team leaders and an oath by the judges' representative.


The preliminary rounds were held on the 23rd and 24th of November, and involved all the 21 teams from colleges and universities across Henan. The competition used a new format that made it more rigorous than previous years. The teams were divided into 7 groups with the competition focusing on a series of 6 debates about the development of society and youth, such as "whether the addressing of campus bullying should be governed by the university or society", "whether knowledge can alleviate young people's anxiety", "whether the reversal of public opinion embodied social rationality", and "whether works that joked about history had more advantages than disadvantages or not".


The winners of the Best Debater Awards were Zhao Liming, Xiao Jintao, Li Xiaodong, Wang Youpu, and Sun Naisen. The 8 universities whose teams advanced to the Second Round were Sias University, Henan Polytechnic University, Henan University of Technology, Henan University of Science & Technology, Shangqiu Institute of Technology, Shangqiu Normal University, Zhongyuan University of Technology, and Zhengzhou Shengda University of Economics, Business & Management.


The World Mandarin Debate Championships have been held every year since 2011, nine times thus far. The event attracts teams from over 200 universities across the world to participate in a competition that recognizes the most authoritative Mandarin language debaters from universities and colleges in China and abroad. The Second Round of the Henan Division will be held at Sias University on the 30th of November.

The Henan Division of the 10th World Mandarin Debate Championships was held at Sias University

Founder, and Chairman of the Board of Sias, Dr. Shawn Chen

Deputy Party Secretary (and head of the Communist Youth League), Li Huafeng

Henan Division of the 10th World Mandarin Debate Championships

Participants swearing their oaths

Participants swearing their oaths

Sias University Debate Team

What's New

Chinese Premier Invites Sias Founder to Foreign Experts Symposium

Saturday, January 18 – The Premier of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China, Li Keqiang,...

2020 Annual Zhengzhou Alumni Meeting

Monday, January 6 - The 4th annual meeting of the Sias Alumni Association in Zhengzhou was held on the 5th of January...

Sias wins at 1st Henan Campus Golf Championships

Thursday, January 2 - The 1st Campus Intelligent Golf Championship 'Huanmeng Cup' was held at the Henan...